A new beginning…

This is my FIRST of many posts as I journey through the EDTECH program at Boise State University.

Choosing to study at Boise State was an easy decision.  Spending 4 months with a die hard Bronco fan will get anyone’s attention!  Actually figuring out what it was I wanted to study was always a difficult task.

My undergraduate degree is in Social Studies Education and throughout my four years studying on the Rexburg Tundra I always questioned how I could take the content my professors were teaching me and create a new and advanced way of delivering that same content to my students.  I want to make learning fun in an updated way.

John Dewey in his 1987 article titled “My Pedagogic Creed” stated that “school must represent present life – life as real and vital to the child as that which he carries on in the home, in the neighborhood, or on the play-ground.”  I believe that through the use of technology in the classroom, teachers can mirror students present day life. Students have so much information available to them through the use of various technologies and I believe that technology can get students more excited about learning.

My goals in the EDTECH program are: to become confident in my ability to research and use technology, to see the challenges and rewards of technology in the classroom, learn the various methods to integrate and utilize technology and finally I am eager to understand and use project based learning to fit students real world.

I am excited about my place in the program.  With many states now in the process of pilot programs to introduce laptops/tablets into the classroom and doing away with text books, I hope to be in a position to continue the movement, helping to ensure education is inline with the 21st Century.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A new beginning…

  1. Thanks, Shaun, for your introduction. I, too, am a die-hard Bronco fan and can’t wait until next football season. I live for football!! Thanks and welcome to the program.

Leave a Reply

